The Dublin City Ramblers   •   A Nation Once Again (1975)

image image image
  • A Nation Once Again
    • 1975 - Dolphin DOLM 5030 LP (IRL)
  • Side One
    1. The Men Behind The Wire (Paddy McGuigan)
    2. Carolans Concerto
    3. Foggy Dew
    4. The Old Triangle (Brendan Behan)
    5. The Little Beggerman
    6. God Save Ireland (T. D. Sullivan, Arr. Dublin City Ramblers)
  • Side Two
    1. A Nation Once Again (Thomas Davis, Arr. Dublin City Ramblers)
    2. Take It Down
    3. Eamon An Cnoic
    4. The Orange & The Green (Antony Murphy)
    5. The Waxie's Dargle
    6. Bold Fenian Men (Kearney)

  • Credits
    • Produced by John D'Ardis
    • Recorded at Trend Studios
    • All tracks: Trad. Arr. Dublin City Ramblers, unless otherwise noted.

Sleeve Notes

Hello, we're the Dublin City Ramblers. Individually we are Patsy Watchorn, Scan McGuinness, Kevin Gerahty and Mike Crotty. We first got together simply because we all had a love of Irish ballads and loved to play around the Dublin sessions. We've been lucky enough to become popular in the many famous ballad houses in Dublin city and that's probably why we were asked to record this LP. Patsy and Seán have both been with the "Quarefellas" who have disbanded, Kevin has until a short time ago played with the Weavers and Mike has been with so many groups and backed so many singers that lack of space (and his very bad memory) prevents mentioning them.

We hope you will enjoy the selection of songs we have included on this album and hope you can get along to see us sometime. When deciding what to include, our first thoughts were that they should be songs that you could sing along with and enjoy which is what we always do when we get together.

We have also borne in mind the fact that we are Irish and should respect the ideals and aims of great Irishmen who were and still are prepared to suffer and die so that Ireland may be A NATION ONCE AGAIN.