The Wolfe Tones   •   Up The Rebels (1999)

image image
image image
  • Up The Rebels
    • 1999 - Dolphin DOCDX 9023 CD (IRL)
  • Tracklist
    1. The Man from Mullingar (Trad. Warfield)
    2. The Finding of Moses (Hayward)
    3. Blow Ye Winds (Trad. Warfield)
    4. Goodbye Mrs. Durkin (Trad. O'Lochlainn)
    5. The Tri-Coloured Ribbon (O'Donovan)
    6. The Banks of The Ohio (Trad. Byrne)
    7. The Old Maid (Trad. Byrne)
    8. The Dying Rebel (Trad. Warfield)
    9. Down by The Liffey Side (Kearney)
    10. The Valley of Knockanure (Leahy)
    11. Banna Strand (Trad. Byrne)
    12. The Black Ribbon Band (Trad. Hughes)
    13. Song of The Backwoods (Sullivan)

  • The Wolfe Tones
    • Derek Warfield, Brian Warfield, Noel Nagle & Tommy Byrne

Sleeve Notes

The Wolfe Tones are legends on the Irish ballad-folk scene. They have performed rousing and passionate songs since their formation in the early sixties — at the height of the great Irish folk music revival. This collection includes many favourites such as 'The Tri-Coloured Ribbon', 'The Dying Rebel', 'The Banks Of The Ohio' and 'Banna Strand'. These original recordings have been digitally remastered.