Paddy Reilly   •   Come Back Paddy Reilly (1994)

image image
image image
  • Come Back Paddy Reilly (the CD)
    • 1994 - Brook/Lunar LNCD 7036 CD
  • Tracklist
    1. Rainy Night In Soho (MacGowan)
    2. My Lovely Rose of Clare (Ball)
    3. The Mad Lady and Me (MacCarthy)
    4. Snowy Breasted Pearl (Trad. Arr. Reilly, Campbell)
    5. Missing You (MacCarthy)
    6. Mary From Dungloe (Trad. Arr. Reilly)
    7. Long Before Your Time (McEvoy)
    8. Come Back Paddy Reilly (Trad. Arr. Reilly, Campbell)
    9. The Old Rustic Bridge (Trad. Arr. Reilly)
    10. Rose of Allendale (Trad. Arr. Reilly, Campbell)
    11. The Parting (MacCarthy)
    12. Song for Ireland (Colclouch) — w/Deirdre Reilly
    13. Go Lassie Go (McPeake)

Sleeve Notes

In the late sixties, Paddy Reilly released his first record entitled "The Life of Paddy Reilly", his interpretation and performance of the best ballad writing his 60's folk revival compatriots had crafted to date. The ballads have become Paddy's trademark, and to this day, reflect the sentiments, emotions and the passion of Ireland and Irish culture.

Paddy and the members of this folk revival movement sang of life and the times as they lived and observed them in Ireland. Songs from the heart that would shape the pop culture of Ireland and give the world of the 80's and beyond a new breed of Irish popular artists such as U2, Sinead O'Connor and Hothouse Flowers. Paddy Reilly is considered a living icon in the evolution of Irish contemporary music.

Paddy Reilly is regarded as the all-time best of Irish ballad singers, an accolade bestowed on him by no less than the late, legendary Luke Kelly of the Dubliners. His album sales are phenomenal and a Paddy Reilly concert is an experience that has thrilled and enthralled audiences across the U.S., Australia, U.K. and his homeland, Ireland. His "Fields of Athenry" is possibly the best selling Irish single of all time. Listen to this man and understand why.