Matt McGinn   •   Little Ticks of Time

image image image
  • Little Ticks of Time
    • 1969 - Transatlantic XTRA 1078 LP (UK)
  • Side One
    1. The Cleansing Man
    2. The Witches Song
    3. Polly Had A Poodle
    4. Little Ticks Of Time
    5. Skinny Ma Linky Long Legs
    6. The Man In The Moon
    7. Bingo Bella
  • Side Two
    1. Jolly Red Nose
    2. Mornin' Elanora
    3. Tra La La Tweet Tweet
    4. Oor Wee Wean
    5. The Dundee Cat (Nicoll)
    6. Eternity Will Soon Be Over
    7. Loch Lomond (Trad., Arr. McGinn)

  • Musicians
    • Matt McGinn: Vocals
    • The Lowlanders accompany Matt McGinn on this record.
  • Credits
    • Produced by Bill Leader
    • Recorded at Craighall Studios, Edinburgh
    • Production master by Sound Techniques
    • Cover by Brian Shuel

Sleeve Notes

There are plenty of poets who can play with a powerful phrase. There are loads of lyricists who can lash up an elegant line.  But the ability to write a really simple song belongs to very few. Matt McGinn has this ability. He is able to take a simple line and build a significant song. When I say 'significant' I don't want you to think of world shaking significance. I just mean the songs have a meaningful click to them. Neither the inanity of the old popular song style nor the obscurity of the modern pops. The hard realities of life in Glasgow's Gallowgate are in Matt's songs, but often there is a tenderness too. And always a wee curl of humour or a belly laugh.