The Johnstons   •   Ye Jacobites By Name

image image image
  • Ye Jacobites By Name
    • 1974 - Contour Records 2870 378 LP (UK)
  • Side One
    1. Ye Jacobites By Name
    2. The Coleraine Regatta
    3. The Newry Highwayman (Trad Arr. Colm Ó Lochlainn)
    4. The Nine Points Of Roguery, The Humours of Tulla
    5. What Put The Blood?
    6. The Fenians From Cahiciveen (Trad Arr. Johnston, Moloney, Brady, Corcoran)
  • Side Two
    1. The Barleycorn (Trad Arr. Colm Ó Lochlainn)
    2. Sorry The Day I Was Married
    3. The Flower Of Northumberland
    4. The Nine Points Of Roguery, The Humours of Tulla
    5. Paddy's Green Shamrock Shore
    6. Fuigfidh Mise'n Baile Seo

  • The Johnstons
    • Adrienne Johnston: Vocals
    • Luci Johnston: Vocals
    • Paul Brady: Vocals, 6 & 12-String Guitars
    • Mick Moloney: Vocals, Tenor Banjo, Mandolin, 6-String Guitar
  • Credits
    • Produced by Nathan Joseph
    • Recorded at Sound Technique Studios, London 1968
    • Engineers: John Wood & Ron Fender
    • Sleeve Design: Bartholomew Wilkins & Partners
    • Tracks: Trad. Arr. Johnston, Moloney, Brady, unless otherwise noted.

Sleeve Notes

This varied collection of mainly traditional airs ranges from the olde English to an anti-Jacobite song, by way of various nearly-lost Irish material.

All the main ingredients of Folk Music are here — murder, prison, mis-marriage and long-forgotten local events, plus regional variations of melodies that have travelled the world in true minstrel fashion. Not forgetting the Reel,an essential instrumental extra to pace a programme particularly strong in song stories.

Self-explanatory are such items as "The Coleraine Regatta", "The Newry Highwayman" and "The Fenians from Cahiciveen", but it is interesting to find that the story of "The Flower of Northumberland" is reported to have turned up in various parts of Europe in other songs, and that "What put the Blood?" and "The Barleycorn" are merely Irish variants or adaptations of early English folk songs.

The Johnstons have had worldwide success with their records, have been seen on television, and broadcast regularly. This LP shows their broad repertoire and a true dedication to retaining their national heritage.