The Irish Rovers   •   The Unicorn, the Continuing Story

image image
image image
more images
  • The Unicorn, the Continuing Story
    • 2017 - Rover Records IRD112017 CD (CAN)
  • Tracklist
    1. Come In (Adapt. George Millar)
    2. The Man from Mullingar (Adapt. George Millar)
    3. Little Bridget Flynn (Percy French, Adapt. George Millar)
    4. The Orange and the Green (Anthony Murphy, Arr. Adapt. George Millar)
    5. First Love in Life (Arr. Adapt. George Millar)
    6. Kellswater (Adapt. George Millar, Joe Millar)
    7. Brady of Strabane (Adapt. George Millar)
    8. Muirsheen Durkin (Adapt. George Millar, Wilcil McDowell)
    9. Black Velvet Band (Arr. Adapt. George Millar)
    10. The Wind That Shakes the Corn (Adapt. George Millar)
    11. The Unicorn (Shel Silverstein)
    12. Narwhal, the Continuing Story of The Unicorn (George Millar)

  • The Irish Rovers
    • George Millar: Guitar & Vocals
    • Wilcil McDowell: Accordion
    • Seán O'Driscoll: Banjo & Mandolin
    • Ian Millar: Bass, Guitar & Vocals
    • Morris Crum: Keyboards & Vocals
    • Geoffrey Kelly: Whistle & Flute
    • Gerry O'Connor: Fiddle
    • Fred Graham: Bodhran & Percussion
  • Guest Musicians
    • Bernie Labarge: Guitar (Track: 11)
    • Simon McBride: Guitar (Track: 12)
    • Billy Antrim: Heavy Drums
  • Credits
    • Produced by George Millar for Rover Records
    • Engineered by Rick Salt
    • Mixed by George Millar & Rick Salt
    • Mastered by Rick Salt
    • Recorded at Rick Salt Studios, Nanaimo BC & Wilcil McDowell Studio, N. Ireland
    • Word Processing by Jane Edgar
    • Album Art by Hamish Burgess:
    • Album Art Design & Layout by Jennifer Fahrni
    • Manufactured by DMA Discs, Vancouver BC
    • Concert Promotion & PR Mgr: Jennifer Fahrni
    • Booking & Production Mgr: Bill Girdwood
    • Booking Agency: The Roots Agency

A Note To The Fans

The Unicorn song will be 50 years old in 2018 and the Irish Rovers will be 53 years old. Not many bands have stayed active this long and we're delighted to be one of those few, with no end in sight for a wee while yet. Our fans of course are the ones responsible for our longevity and we're eternally grateful to one and all of you. I This latest recording came to life less than a year ago when my wife Anne, and Jennifer of our management team were sharing a bottle of wine and deciding "The Boys" were taking too much time off and needed a new project to keep them properly occupied. Their grape influenced idea was to re-record The Unicorn album on it's 50th Anniversary, as a special gift to the fans. My mother had warned me of the evils of drink and now I saw it first hand, for I thought them quite mad and not terribly sober. Having acquired a small bit of wisdom over the years, I smilingly agreed, saying it was a grand idea and one I would certainly consider. Not an answer they were happy with, but one that saved me temporarily from the stoney silence that most assuredly would have followed, had I outright rejected their concept. As they continued their deluge of reasons why we should do it, I started to slowly think that perhaps it wasn't such a bad idea after all, and damn it why hadn't I thought of it meself It was indeed a rare opportunity not many musicians are given, to re-record one of their early efforts, and just like that, I was hooked. So here are eleven updated versions of that 1968 album, The Unicorn, and a bonus track called "The Narwhal, the Continuing Story of The Unicorn". You see children, the Unicorns didn't drown at all in The Great Flood, but metamorphosed into Narwhals and swam merrily away, avoiding a certain watery fate. We hope you enjoy these tracks as much as we did recording them. Thank you fans and thank you Anne and Jennifer. 'Twas a good idea!

George Millar
Nanoose Bay September 2017