Gaberlunzie   •   Scots Wha Ha'e

image image image
  • Scots Wha Ha'e
    • 1975 - MWSL 500 LP (UK)
  • Side One
    1. Mingulay Boat Song (Trad. Arr. Gaberlunzie)
    2. Jock O' Hazeldean (Trad. Arr. Gaberlunzie)
    3. Elly Mae (J. Heard)
    4. Misty Mountain Lady (G, Menzies)
    5. Wild Mountain Thyme (Trad. Arr. Gaberlunzie)
    6. Flower of Scotland (R. Williamson)
  • Side Two
    1. Muirsheen Durkin Medley
      1. Muirsheen Durkin (C. O'Lochlain)
      2. Where is the Man (Trad.)
      3. McAlpines Fusiliers (Behan)
      4. Masons Apron (Trad.)
    2. Greenfields of Orwell (G. Menzies)
    3. Leonora (G. Menzies)
    4. The Deep Waters (R. Watson)
    5. Banish Misfortune (Trad. Arr. Gaberlunzie)
    6. Scots Wha Ha'e (Burns)

  • Gaberlunzie
    • Gordon Menzies: vocals, guitar, mandoline
    • Robin Watson: vocals, 12 string guitar, dulcimer
  • Musicians
    • Jim Stirling: bass guitar
  • Credits
    • Recorded Live at Forfar Leisure Centre by Kelvin Productions
    • Engineer: Alastair Campbell.
    • An M.W.S. Production

Sleeve Notes

The collection of songs on this album contains many old favourites for which we have often been requested. Songs such as Mingulay Boat Song, Jock o' Hazeldean and Wild Mountain Thyme will live forever. Other songs which speak for themselves are Scots Wha Hae and Flower of Scotland. We have also included a number of our new songs.

Many thanks to the good folk of Forfar who are very much part of this record, which was made at Forfar Leisure Centre. A special mention to our bass guitarist, Jim Stirling; to Dominic Behan for McAlpines Fusiliers; to Hugh Jordan and to Craven for excellent support work; and to Alastair Campbell engineer extraordinary, who battled against overwhelming odds.