Gaberlunzie   •   Gaberlunzie (1973)

image image image
  • Gaberlunzie
    • 1973 - Siverline DJSL 027 LP (UK)
  • Side One
    1. Nelly Nelly (Trad. arr. Gaberlunzie)
    2. Towards Morning (G Menzies)
    3. 13 Spans Of Steel (G. Menzies)
    4. Staten Island (trad. arr. Gaberlunzie)
    5. Ann McDonald (R. Menzies, G. Menzies)
    6. Talking Cop (G. Menzies)
  • Side Two
    1. Bonnie Annie (G. Menzies Tune Trad.)
    2. Ludwig's Tune (Beethoven arr. Gaberlunzie)
    3. Grey Man Of Skye (G. Menzies)
    4. Sparkling Raindrops (R. Watson, B. Chessar)
    5. Kelly (G. Menzies)

  • Gaberlunzie
    • Gordon Menzies: Vocals, Guitar, Mandoline
    • Robin Watson: Vocals, 12 String Guitar
  • Musicians
    • Robbie Menzies: Vocals, Guitar
    • Jack Marshall: Double Bass
    • Donald Marshall: Drums
  • Credits
    • Produced by Ian Brown & Robin Watson
    • Cover Design: Drawing Board
    • Cover Photography: Eddie Foster
    • All titles published by Sharcha Music.
    • © 1973 This Record Co. Limited
  • Other releases include …
    • Gaberlunzie (1971, UK)
      • The 1971 release includes 1 additonal track — "Great White Sheep".

Sleeve Notes

Gaberlunzie sound is unmistakable with heavy overtones of Scottish patriotism, blending beautifully to harmonic love songs and melodies, such as 'Ann McDonald', 'Sparkling Raindrops', 'Bonnie Annie' and 'Towards Morning'. Doing session are three of their close friends Jack Marshall on bass, Donald Marshall on drums and Robbie Menzies on guitar and vocals, who are all excellent musicians. Jack and Donald come into their own on numbers like 'Kelly', 'Staten Island', and '13 Spans of Steel', which recalls the Tay Bridge disaster of last century.

Ludwig's Tune is, in fact, Beethoven's Sonatina in 'C' Major for piano and mandolin very freely adapted and arranged for mandolin and guitars. 'Nelly, Nelly' tells the story of the American Civil War, Abe Lincoln and the continuing struggle between black and white.


Robbie Menzies is introduced as a new member of Gaberlunzie on the 1971 release, and feature on the cover photo. On the 1973 re-release he is credited as a session musician.