The Dublin City Ramblers   •   On Holy Ground — A Tribute to the Clancy Brothers and Tommy Makem

image image
image image
  • On Holy Ground
    • 2000 - Lynnwood LYNCD016 CD (IRL)
  • Tracklist
    1. Johnson's Motor Car
    2. Rising of the Moon
    3. Bold O'Donoghue
    4. Marie's Wedding
    5. Moonshiner
    6. The Holy Ground
    7. Go Lassie Go
    8. I'll Tell Me Ma
    9. The Jug of Punch
    10. Irish Rover
    11. South Australia
    12. Brennan on the Moor
    13. Carrickfergus
    14. Reilly's Daughter
    15. Shoals of Herring (Ewan McColl)
    16. The Parting Glass

  • Dublin City Ramblers
    • Seán McGuinness: Banjo, Mandolin & Vocals
    • Shay Kavanagh: Rhythm Guitar, Bass Guitar & Vocals
    • Paddy Sweeney: Vocals
  • Musicians
    • Danny Sheerin: Pickin Guitar & Whistle
    • John Doyle: Fiddle
    • Andy O'Callaghan: Strings
  • Credits
    • Produced by Tommy Swarbrigg and Andy O'Callaghan for Lynnwood Records 2000
    • Recorded at Sutton Sound Studios — Dublin for Lynnwood Records
    • Design: Shay Kennedy
    • All tracks Trad. Arr. by Tommy Swarbrigg For Lynnwood Publishing, 2000 IMRO Ireland.
    • Except, Shoals of Herring, by Ewan McColl. © 1963 by Stormking Music Inc.

Sleeve Notes

The Clancy Brothers and Tommy Makem started it all. They took Irish folk music out of Ireland and made it known and loved throughout the world. And they did it with passion and charm, whoops and whistles and leg slapping spontaneity, their trademark Aran sweaters, and songs like Holy Ground and The Irish Rover. Yet never compromising the integrity of the material. They were a huge influence to a whole generation of Irish musicians and singers and they showed us that to sing the songs of Ireland was something to be proud of.

There was Paddy and Tom Clancy to begin with, all the way from Carrick-on-Suir in Co Tipperary Then in the late 50's they were joined by their youngest brother Liam, and his friend Tommy Makem from Co. Armagh. They toured all over the world and topped the charts throughout the 60's. The story of the Clancy Brothers is the story of the ballad revival in America and the re-birth of ethnic folk music across three continents. " If it wasn't for them, we wouldn't be performing all over the world, as we do now." The collection of songs on this record are but a few taken from their huge repertoire of over fifty albums. It was a difficult job to make this selection, but these are amongst our favourites.

" We hope you enjoy this tribute recording as much as we enjoyed making it."
Seán McGuinness, Paddy Sweeney and Shay Kavanagh
The Dublin City Ramblers.