Christy Moore   •   Ordinary Man [1]

image image image
image image
  • Ordinary Man
    • 1985 - WEA 0706 LP (IRL)
  • Side One
    1. Sweet Music Roll On (Graham Lyle & Tom McGuinness)
    2. Delirium Tremens (Christy Moore)
    3. Ordinary Man (Peter Hames)
    4. Matty (Johnny Mulhearn)
    5. The Reel in the Flickering Light (Colm Gallagher)
    6. The Diamondtina Drover (Hugh McDonald)
  • Side Two
    1. Blantyre Explosion (Trad./ arr. McGlynn, Moore & Lunny)
    2. Hard Cases (Johnny Mulhearn)
    3. Continental Céilí (Johnny Mulhearn & Christy Moore)
    4. St. Brendan's Voyage (Christy Moore)
    5. They Never Came Home (Christy Moore)
    6. Quiet Desperation (Floyd Westerman)
  • Credits
    • Producer: Dónal Lunny
    • Recorded at Aigle Studio, Dublin
    • Engineers Philip Begley and Nicky Ryan.
    • Arrangements by Dónal Lunny and Christy Moore assisted by Arty McGlynn, Andy Irvine, Enya Ni Bhraonain and Noel Bridgeman.
    • Sleeve Design: Mattie Fox
  • Other releases include …

My gratitude to Dónal Lunny for the tender loving care he gave to this album and for his inspiration and encouragement in all things at all times.

Christy Moore, June 1985

  • Notes
    • The original release (WEA 0706) contains "The Never Came Home", a song about a fire at the Stardust nightclub.
      • The song was pulled due to a threatened lawsuit — apparently, because of the reference to padlocked fire exits.
    • The Stardust Song was replaced with "Another Song is Born" on all subsequent releases.
    • Early altered (LP) releases have stickers (listing the new song) over the original track listing on the back cover and the lyric sheet insert.