Barleycorn   •   The Winds Are Singing Freedom

image image image
  • The Winds Are Singing Freedom
    • 1974 - Dolphin DOLM 5011 LP (IRL)
  • Side One
    1. This Little Place Called Ireland (Liam Teirnan McGuigan)
    2. Our Lads In Crumlin Jail (Gilliespie)
    3. Tom Williams (Trad. arr. Barleycorn)
    4. The Town I Loved So Well (Phil Coulter)
    5. Bring Them Home (Paddy McGuigan)
    6. Billy Reid (Lyon)
    7. Banjo Reels (Trad. arr. Barleycorn)
      1. Murphy's Reel
      2. Bonnie Kate
  • Side Two
    1. The Winds Are Singing Freedom (Tommy Makem)
    2. The Boys Of The Old Brigade (Paddy McGuigan)
    3. John Mitchell (Trad. arr. Barleycorn)
    4. Irish Soldier Boy (Gaffney)
    5. Henry Joy (Trad. arr. Barleycorn)
    6. Mandolin Jigs (Trad. arr. Barleycorn)
      1. Gallagher's Frolics
      2. Bill Hart's Jig

  • Credits
    • Produced by Dermot O'Brien at Trend Studios Ltd., Dublin, 1974
    • Photography: Roy Esmonde
    • Cover Design: Jim Palmer

Sleeve Notes

I always considered the Barleycorn as a one-hit group, i.e. "The Men Behind The Wire". Then in January 1974 I went to hear them in the Chariot, Raneiagh, Dublin. I listened to them for one and a half hours and was more than surprised to find that they are one of the most entertaining groups I have ever heard and that "The Men Behind The Wire" is just one of their many big numbers.

Over the next couple of months I got to know the group very well and Paddy, John, Liam and Brian became good friends of mine. This their first L.P. on Dolphin. I was at the recording sessions and witnessed all the hard work done by the boys and their producer Dermot O'Brien. There is nothing more I can say except for you to listen to this album and I'm sure you will agree with me that Barleycorn are here to stay.