Finnegan Wakes

image image image
  • Finnegan Wakes
    • 1966 - Transatlantic 139 LP (UK)
  • Side One
    1. Finnegan's Wake
    2. Sunshine Hornpipe, The Mountain Road
    3. Monto
    4. The Dublin Fusiliers
    5. Chief O'Neill's Favourite
    6. The Sea Around Us (Dominic Behan)
  • Side Two
    1. McAlpine's Fusiliers (Dominic Behan)
    2. Hot Asphalt
    3. The Glendalough Saint
    4. Within a Mile from Dublin
    5. Will you come to the Bower
    6. Nelson's Farewell (Joe Dolan)

  • The Dubliners
    • Luke Kelly, Ronnie Drew, Ciarán Bourke, Barney McKenna & John Sheahan
  • Credits
    • Recorded live at the Gate Theatre, Dublin, on April 26/27, 1966
    • with the assistance of Silverpine Studios, Bray.
    • Recording Engineer: Martin Haines
    • Produced by Nathan Joseph
    • Cover: Brian Shuel
    • All tracks: Trad. Arr. The Dubliners, unless otherwise noted.

Sleeve Notes

The show, "Finnegan Wakes", at the Gate Theatre Dublin, ran in the spring of 1966 to packed and enthusiastic houses. From the show, we have taken for this record some highlights of the Dubliners' performances. In a later LP we hope to issue some of the many other wonderful items from the show, including the work of other artists who took part. We wish to thank the management of the Gate Theatre and Mr. Michael Geoghehan of Irish Record Factors, Dublin, for their invaluable assistance.

The Dubliners are Luke Kelly, Ronnie Drew, Ciaron Bourke, Barney McKenna and John Sheahan