More (Mostly) Folk Music

The Irish Balladeers   •   Once Upon a Time

image image image
  • Once Upon a Time
    • 1979 - Avoca 3-ST-203 LP (USA)
  • Side One
    1. Once Upon a Time
    2. What do You do with the Drunken Sailor
    3. The Maid of Fife
    4. Farewell to Nova Scotia (H. Creighton)
    5. Harlaw
    6. Leave her Johnny Leave her
  • Side Two
    1. Barefoot in Gettysburg
    2. The Road to Gundagai
    3. The Country I'm Leaving Behind
    4. The Band Played Waltzing Matilda (Eric Bogle)
    5. The Bonnie Ship The Diamond

Sleeve Notes

Once upon a time there was a battle fought at Gettysburg and Irishmen fought with the Blue and the Gray.

Once upon a time the brave McDonald fell at Harlaw and men died at Gallipoli.

Once upon a time boats left the harbours of Ireland carrying exiles away to places like Nova Scotia and Australia (where they camped at Lazy Harry's on the road to Gundagai).

And once upon a time we wrote a love song just for you — guess what we called it!

Once upon a time we recorded this album so you could enjoy it now!

The Irish Balladeers

We wish to acknowledge the help of our friends in making this recording — Ed Lenihan on banjo and John Nolan for his fiddle and Bodhrán.

There are no further credits on this album. The line up is that of the originals: Bob, Chuck and John Rogers & Ted Andrews. I believe the fifth member is Joe Pacini.