More (Mostly) Folk Music

The Flying Column   •   Folk Music Time In Ireland [Cassette]

image image
  • Folk Music Time In Ireland
    • 1970 - Emerald Gem KGEC 1035 Cassette
  • Side One
    1. Henry Joy
    2. Come To The Bower
    3. The Banks Of The Ohio
    4. The Dying Rebel
    5. Belfast City
    6. Whiskey In The Jar
  • Side Two
    1. Tom Williams (Gilligan)
    2. The Banner Strand
    3. The Boston Burglar
    4. When I Was Single
    5. James Connolly

  • Musicians
    • Eamonn Largey: Vocals
    • Kathleen Largey: Vocals
    • Barney Evans: Guitar
    • Seán Kelly: 5-String Banjo
  • Credits
    • Produced by M. Allan
    • Photograph by T. McIlroy
    • All Tracks: Trad. Arr. Largey, unless otherwise noted.

Sleeve Notes

Occasionally a group of artists out of many hundreds are able to project their own individual personality to the public. Such a group is the "Flying Column".

"The Flying Column" is a group of Irish Folk musicians. They bring a new feel and individual approach to Irish Folk Music with their pleasing personality and style of singing, that has already pleased many thousands of local Irishmen and overseas visitors. The group who all live in the North of Ireland have been playing and rehearsing for a couple of years and leader Eamonn Largey is the driving force behind the keenness and high musical ability which they have. The songs on this recording include well known ones such as "Whiskey in the Jar", "Come to the Bower", "Henry Joy", etc. and also some very rarely recorded songs such as "Tom Williams" and the very poignant "Banner Strand". Undoubtedly your favourite will be "Belfast City" a song as well known in Ireland as in America and this treated in a completely individualistic and happy manner by the group. We feel sure you will enjoy the Flying Column's first recording.