More (Mostly) Folk Music

Walt Conley & Company   •   After All These Years

image image
  • After All These Years
    • 1991 - Unicon URIC-1005 Cassette (USA)
  • Side One
    1. Mary Ellen Carter (Stan Rogers)
    2. Early Morning Rain (Gordon Lightfoot)
    3. Dooley (Rodney Dillard & Mitch Jayne)
    4. Mendocino Desperados (Bob Gibson & Shel Silverstein)
    5. Dancing Sandwiches (Ted Sherman)
    6. Jamaica Farewell (Trad., Lord Burgess)
    7. Angel Eyes (Earl Brent & Matt Dennis)
  • Side Two
    1. Farewell Party (Bob Gibson & Bob Connelly)
    2. Roll On Columbia (Woody Guthrie)
    3. The City of New Orleans (Steve Goodman)
    4. Whistling Gypsy Rover (Child Ballad)
    5. White Squall (Stan Rogers)
    6. Haul Away Joe (Trad.)

  • Musicians
    • Walt Conley: Vocals, Guitar
    • Clark Burch: Bass, Vocals
    • Ted Sherman: Vocals, Guitar, Banjo, Mandolin, Autoharp
    • Mike Crowley: Guitar, Banjo, Piano, Synthesizer, Percussion, Bass, Vocals
    • Bob Turner: Guitar
    • Gary Check: Harmonica
    • Stu Martz: Fiddle
    • Chuck Lettes: Dobro
    • Kim Robinson: Tenor Sax
    • Tony McAleavey: Percussion, Vocals
    • Linda Crowley: Piano, Synthesizer, Vocals
    • Jeannie Robertson: Vocals
    • David Ruthstrom: Vocals
    • Bill Buckley: Vocals
    • Michael Kent: Vocals
    • Michaela: Vocals
  • Credits
    • Produced by Michael Crowley
    • Photos: Troy Conley
    • Typesetting & Layout: Bob & Meri Haworth
    • Engineered & Mixed by Mike Crowley
    • This tape has been purposely recorded without noise reduction.
    • ®1991, Unicom Records, Inc.

Sleeve Notes

I've been a folk singer, or should I say, a singer of folk songs, for most of my adult life. My idea of folk singers is men like Woody Guthrie, Leadbelly, Pete Seeger, Merle Travis and dozens more who worked and traveled through the hardships and joys of the folks they wrote about.

These are the songs I sing. The music I choose to interpret is really a vicarious expression of my life, because for every song I sing I have a memory from my own travels. That's what keeps this music alive — the shared association we all have with these songs.

The two guys who convinced me to do this album, Mike Crowley and Bob Turner, said that after all these years, it's time to give my loyal fans something to take home — a record of my thoughts and feelings through the music that is important to me. With additional urging from friends, I did it — we did it — and I'm sure glad we did!

My special and sincere thanks to the following folks: Michael Crowley for being the recording genius that he is; Colin Thompson for introducing me to the music of Stan Rogers; Tony McAleavey for taking me off to Ireland to see what I sing about; every musician who played or sang a note on this album; my wonderful wife, Joan, for her constant support on this project; and, most importantly, the two people who really make it Conley and Company — Clark Burch and Ted Sherman.

I dedicate this album to Joanne Miller Littman, a devoted listener and friend, who has kept track of me and all my fans for all these years.