More (Mostly) Folk Music

Diarmuid O'Leary and the Bards   •   Classic Irish Ballads

image image image
  • Classic Irish Ballads
    • 1986 - TARA 3018 LP (IRL)
  • Side One
    1. Cliffs of Dooneen
    2. The Fields of Athenry (Pete St. John)
    3. Whiskey in the Jar
    4. Green Fields of France (Eric Bogle)
    5. Follow Me Up to Carlow
    6. The Curragh of Kildare
  • Side Two
    1. Spancil Hill
    2. Down By the Sally Gardens
    3. The Ferryman (Pete St. John)
    4. Waltzing Matilda (Eric Bogle)
    5. Nancy Spain (Barney Rush)

  • The Bards
    • Diarmuid O'Leary: Lead Vocals & Guitar
    • Christy Sheridan: Mandolin & Banjo
    • Ann O'Connor: Lead Vocals
    • Smithy: Bass & Vocals
    • Fran Curry: Piano, Synthesizer & Accordion
  • Credits
    • Produced by The Bards & Andrew Boland
    • Engineer: Andrew Boland
    • Tape Op: Brona Walshe
    • Recorded at Lansdowne Studios Dublin
    • Mixed at Lansdowne & Westland Studios, Dublin
    • Sleeve Front Photography: Peter Zoeller
    • All tracks: Trad. Arr. D. O'Leary & The Bards, unless otherwise noted.
    • © 1986, Tara Records Ltd.
  • Other releases include …

Sleeve Notes

"Diarmuid O'Leary & The Bards" with several hit records to their credit, are firmly established among the top entertainers in Ireland today. This, their fifth album is a collection of classic Irish ballads which are known and loved not only in Ireland but in many parts of the world.