More (Mostly) Folk Music

Diarmuid O'Leary and the Bards   •   The Bards Live

image image image
  • The Bards Live
    • 1985 - K-tel 200 LP (IRL)
  • Side One
    1. A Place in The Choir (Bill Staines)
    2. Matchstalk Men (Coleman, Burke)
    3. The Wind in The Willows (Alan Bell)
    4. A Pinch of Snuff (Banjo Instrumental) (Trad. Arr. The Bards)
    5. Carrickfergus (Piano Instrumental) (Trad. Arr. The Bards)
  • Side Two
    1. Lanigans Ball (Trad. Arr. The Bards)
    2. My Only Son (Trad. Arr. The Bards)
    3. The Liar (T. Makem)
    4. The Oldest Swinger in Town (Pickford, Wedlock, Newman)
    5. The Galway Races (Trad. Arr. The Bards)

  • The Bards
    • Diarmuid O'Leary: Vocals & Guitar
    • Ann O'Connor: Vocals & Bodhrán
    • Christy Sheridan: Mandolin, Banjo, Guitar, Vocals
    • Fran Curry: Piano, Synthesizer. Accordian & Harmonica
    • Smithy: Electric & Double Bass, Vocals
  • Credits
    • Engineer: Andrew Boland
    • Assistant: Conor Barry
    • Co-Produced: The Bards and Andrew Boland
    • Recorded Live by the Eerie Mobile Recording Unit
    • Mixed at Windmill Lane & Lansdowne Studios
      • Except, Track: 10 — Recorded & Mixed at Lansdowne Studios, Dublin
    • Sleeve Design: Public Image Limited
    • Photography: Walter Pfeiffer

Sleeve Notes

Special thanks to Andrew Boland for his ideas and consistent enthusiasm in making this album we extend best wishes to Tony and Jim Barry.

This record was recorded live at the concert hall by kind permission of the board of the National Concert Hall.

Footnote: 'The Galway Races' has the distinction of being the first track ever recorded at the Lansdowne Studios and the superb atmosphere of the studios was complemented by the proximity of 'Kitty O'Shea's' Pub across the road.