More (Mostly) Folk Music

The Bards   •   Irish Coffee

image image image
  • Irish Coffee
    • 1975 - Shillelagh BRL 4064 LP (USA)
  • Side One
    1. Whiskey in The Jar
    2. Irish Soldier Boy
    3. Lord Inchiquin, St. Anns & Belfast Hornpipe
    4. Lark in The Morning
    5. The Gallant Forty Twa
    6. Blackthorn Stick, Munster Buttermilk & Saddle the Pony
  • Side Two
    1. Whiskey You're the Devil
    2. Come by The Hills
    3. As I Roved Out, Sligo Maids & Colonel Rodney
    4. Mountain Dew
    5. Finnegan's Wake & Fermoy Lassies
    6. A Nation Once Again

  • The Bards
    • Martin McElhone: Banjo, Mandolin, Whistle, Concertina, Guitar
    • Tony Hegarty: Fiddle, Guitar, Mandolin, Vocals
    • John Nesbitt: Double Bass, Guitar, Vocals
    • Jimmy McArdle: Guitar, Vocals
  • Credits
    • Recorded at Trend Studios, Dublin
    • Engineer: Fred Meijer
    • Photography: Roy Esmonde
    • All titles arranged by the Bards

Sleeve Notes

Whiskey In The Jar — Tale of a highwayman betrayed by his sweetheart.

Irish Soldier Boy — A patriotic son from the 1798 insurrection.

Lord Inchiquin, St. Anns, Belfast Hornpipe — A slow air followed by two hornpipes.

Lark In The Morning — Story of a young ploughboy sowing his wild oats.

The Gallant Forty Twa — What you might call an anti-war song.

Blackthorn Stick, Munster Buttermilk, Saddle The Pony — Three jigs.

Whiskey You're The Devil — Give us a gallon of whiskey and we'll fight anybody.

Come By The Hills — A song extolling the beauties of Ireland.

As I Roved Out, Sligo Maids, Colonel Rodney — A young girl attracts the attention of an older married man & Two reels.

Mountain Dew — Also called Poteen, an illegal whiskey made in Ireland.

Finnegan's Wake, Fermoy Lassies — Whiskey can kill you or bring you back from the dead.

A Nation Once Again — Song written by Thomas Davis that almost became Ireland's National Anthem.

The fine selection of songs on this album is comparable to the blending of ingredients of which it takes its name, "Irish Coffee", and is a natural follow-up to the two previous albums, "Definitely Irish Folk" and "Irish Mist", both of which are still available. You may be lucky enough to get your hands on one of them. Although the Irish have spread themselves to the far corners of the earth, you don't need a drop of Irish blood in you to appreciate the music, so clap your hands and start singing along.

Brian O'Hara