More (Mostly) Folk Music

Aileach   •   Aileach

image image image
  • Aileach
    • 1975 - EMI Leaf 7009 LP (IRL)
  • Side One
    1. Gravel Walk
    2. The Bonny Labouring Boy
    3. Jigs Of Aileach
    4. The May Morning Dew
    5. Táimse Im Chodladh "s Ná Dúistear Mé, An Búachaillin Bui
    6. The Pig
  • Side Two
    1. The Town I Love So Well
    2. Pinch Of Snuff
    3. The Lambs on the Green Hills
    4. Dinny's Trip To The Gaeltacht
    5. The Strands of Magilligan
    6. Celtic Lament
    7. Lullaby

  • Aileach
    • Dinny McLaughlin: Fiddle, Tin Whistle, Flute and Vocals
    • Bernard Heany: (Lead) Vocals, Guitar and Bodhrán
    • Pat McCabe: Accordion, Tin Whistle, Piano and Vocals
    • Brian McRory: Banjo, Bouzouki and Vocals
  • Musicians
    • Dónal Lunny: Guitar, Bouzouki
    • Phil Coulter: Celeste
    • Kieran Brennan: Double Bass
    • Pat Armstrong: Guitar
    • Martin Walsh: Double Bass
  • Credits
    • Produced by Dónal Lunny
      • With the exception of "Gravel Walk" & "Lullaby" which were produced by PHIL COULTER
    • Recorded at DUBLIN SOUND STUDIOS, 1975.
    • ©1975, EMI Ireland) Limited

Sleeve Notes

"Gravel Walk" — A favourite reel of the group's. Indeed, we like it so much we were delighted to put it on the "B" side of our first recorded release.

"The Bonny Labouring Boy" — This song tells of the classic conflict between mother and daughter. The mother advises her daughter to seek a rich suitor but she chooses her lover, a labouring boy.

"Jigs Of Aileach" — Playing so many tunes, it is often difficult to remember their names. These three, The Tenpenny Piece, Tell Her I Am, and The Leitrim Fancy, we collectively call the Jigs of Aileach.

"The May Morning Dew" — This is a traditional lament whereby an exile returns to his birthplace. Reflecting on his youth he sadly realises that his memories can never be relived. I first heard this song from Co. Clare singer and collector, John Lyons.

"Táimse Im Chodladh "s Ná Dúistear Mé/An Búachaillin Bui" — These are two slow airs which we have done in two different styles. The first in the true traditional style and the second with a strict beat.

"The Pig" — A humourous song on the sale of a pig. The sly lady who relieved the seller of his money, is cursed severely for her action. I got this song from fiddler Eddie Sweeney, Co. Monaghan.

"The Town I Love So Well" — A contemporary ballad by Derry born composer, Phil Coulter. Returning during "the troubles" to his native town, he felt compelled to comment on the town he had known as a youth, how it has been changed and his hope for ultimate peace.

"Pinch Of Snuff" — There are many versions of this tune, most of them with four parts. As it is a favourite of ours, we gave it a Northern lift!

"The Lambs on the Green Hills" — A jilted lover challenges the newly wedded bride for her hand. He is chased off by the groom, to mourne his loss for ever. This is the Irish version of a popular ballad theme, and the last verse is universally used to emphasize a broken heart.

"Dinny's Trip To The Gaeltacht" — Dinny has composed many tunes over the last few years. This one he composed on his way to Gweedore, always a pleasant trip.

"The Strands of Magilligan" — This is a love song from Co. Derry which probably originated from England.

"Celtic Lament" — Pat got this slow air from piper Jack Wade of Clones who was killed in a car crash in 1967. It is a lament for all Celts.

"Lullaby" — This is another composition by Phil Coulter. Realising that the lingering war in the North of Ireland is leaving heavy scars on the minds of the young he writes this song in an attempt to call for a change of heart.