the Wolfe Tones

The Wolfe Tones: You'll Never Beat The Irish


  • You'll Never Beat The Irish
    • 2001 - Celtic Connetions TRCD 15 CD
    • 2005 - Brentwood BCI 40937 CD
  • Track List:
    1. You'll Never Beat the Irish
    2. The Crossing
    3. The Rebel
    4. In Belfast
    5. Chicago
    6. We are the Irish
    7. United Men
    8. Ireland My Ireland
    9. Halloween
    10. Grace (O'Meara/O'Meara)
    11. The Hot Asphalt (Trad. Arr. Byrne, Nagle & Warfield)
    12. Thank God for America
    13. Celtic Dreams
    14. You'll Never Beat the Irish - Part 2

  • The Wolfe Tones
    • Tommy Byrne: Guitar
    • Brian Warfield : Banjo
    • Noel Nagle: Whistle
  • Musicians
    • Bill Shanley: Guitar
    • James Blennerhassett : Bass Guitar
    • Jimmy Smith : Guitar
    • Kiev Connolly: Piano, Keyboards
    • Mick McCauley : Whistle, Accordion
    • Moire Breagnach: Violin
    • Noel Cronin : Mouth Organ
    • Paul Kelly: Violin
    • Siobhan Warfield : Backing Vocals
    • Stephen O'Kelly : Violin
    • Thomas Breen: Accordion
    • Ursula McLoughlain: Backing Vocals
  • Credits
    • Produced by Brian Warfield, Kiev Connolly
    • Recorded at Pulse Studios Dublin
    • Mastered at Area 51, Dublin
    • Engineers: Owen Mukahy, Shane Power, Tony Parry
    • Assistant Engineer: Fergus Brown
    • All tracks arranged by Kiev Connolly
    • All tracks Written by Brian Warfiled, unless otherwise noted.
    • Designed by Mary Fleming at Zesus Design

Sleeve Notes

This is a unique offering from the lads, it's the story of Ireland in song, something that has never been done before and is a must for everyone who has a drop of Irish in them and I don't mean Whiskey. There are fourteen songs, twelve of them offered here for the first time. They are the most important songs written in recent times and are very different and inventive. The singing of Tommy Byrne is superb and filled with emotion and expression. The passion of Brian Warfield comes across in his performance and his song writing. Together with Noel Nagle they create a sound that is new and exciting … After listening to this collection I guarantee that you won't be disappointed.

  • Notes:
    • This is the first "Wolfe Tones" album (of previously unreleased material) since 1989.
    • In addition, this is also the first album (CD) released after the departure of Derek Warfield.
    • You may notice the cover reads Noel Nagle, Tommy Byrne, Brian Warfield "of" the Wolfe Tones.
      • For their next 2 releases the word "of" is removed, and the covers read Brian…, Tommy…, Noel… "the Wolfe Tones".
      • And on their subsequent releases the "Brian…, Tommy…, Noel…" is completed removed and the three are billed as just "the Wolfe Tones".