The Sands Family

The Sands Family: Now and Then


  • Now and Then
    • 1986 - Spring Records SLP1O8 LP
  • Side One
    1. There's A Song In Every Land (Tommy Sands)
    2. The Last House In Our Street (Colum Sands) [1]
    3. Drumnaquoile Clap Polka/O'Neill's March (Traditional: Arranged Sands Family)
    4. Hay Una Mujer (Holly Near)
    5. The Banks Of The Bann (Traditional: Arranged Sands Family) [2]
    6. Lookin' The Loan Of A Spade (Colum Sands)
  • Side Two
    1. The Man With The Cap (Colum Sands)
    2. Going Tomorrow (Bob Gibson) [1]
    3. The Poor Oul' Lousy Earth (Samuel Beckett)
    4. Round and Round and Up and Down (Tommy Sands)
    5. I Come and Stand at Every Door (Nâzim Hikmet)
    6. When the Music Starts to Play (Tommy Sands)

  • The Sands Family
    • Tom Sands: Vocals, Guitar, G-Banjo
    • Anne Keane (Sands): Vocals, Bodhrán
    • Ben Sands: Vocals, Guitar, Mandoline, Tin Whistle, Reverse Whistle, Piano, Russellia
    • Colum Sands: Vocals, Accordion, Agreement, Guitar, Fiddle, Concertina, Double Bass, Dulcimer, Accordion, Sitar Viol
  • Musicians
    • Arty McGlynn: Guitar
    • Dick Gaughan: Guitar
    • Nollaig Casey: Fiddle
    • Sean McGuire: Fiddle
    • Dónal Lunney [sic]: Bouzouki
    • Brendan Monaghan: Uileann Pipes
    • Keith Donald: Saxophones
    • Davy Spillane: Low Whistle
    • Jackie Flavelle: Bass
    • Hoppi Hopkins: Percussion
  • Credits
    • Cover Design: Anne Keane (Sands)
    • Produced by Colum Sands
    • Record at Spring Studios, Rosetrevor in 1986, except [1] & [2]
    • © Copyright 1986 Spring Records, 50 Shore Road, Rostrevor. Co. Down
    • Special Thanks to Jimmy Russell of Rostrevor who built the Russellia and Dulcimer used on this record and to Mick Delargy of Newry who built the fiddles played on the Drumnaquoile Clap Polka.

  • Note for collectors — Three tracks on this record have been issued on previous Sands Family albums and appear here with kind permission of Pläne Records:
    1. Tracks from High Hills and Valleys: 1980 - Pläne 88 206 LP
      • Recorded 1979 at Plane Studios, Dortmund, produced by Andreas Kettel
    2. Tracks from Tell me what you see: 1982 - Pläne 88 303 LP
      • Recorded at Volkspark Studios, Hamburg, Produced by Uli Maske and Martin Berschel

… Balladeers notes

My thanks to Erich Nestler for providing the original information and cover scans on this recording.