Derek Warfeild and the Young Wolfe Tones: The Night Is…Young

  • The Night Is…Young
    • 2008 - KELLS-7148 CD
  • On the One Road
    • 2009 - Ceol Music (?) CD
      • " Derek Warfield and the Young Wolfe Tones"
  • Disc One
    1. Will You Go Lassie Go
    2. The Darlin Girl From Clare
    3. Streets Of New York
    4. The Masons Apron Reel
    5. Lonely Banna Stand, Ballad Of Roger Casement
    6. Galway To Graceland
    7. The Boys Of Kilmichael [4]
    8. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
    9. The Valley Of Knockanure
    10. The Rathlin Bog/Sally Gardens
    11. The Ballad Of Newgrange (Bru Na Boinne)
    12. Blackberry Blossom
    13. The Homes Of Donegal
    14. Sergeant William Bailey
    15. Teddy O Neill
    16. Some Say The Devil Is Dead
    17. Lake Of Coolfin
  • Disc Two
    1. The Night Is … Young Set
    2. Only Our Rivers Run Free
    3. The Foggy Dew [3] [5]
    4. The Ballad Of Michael Barrett [3]
    5. The Piper That Played Before Moses [4] [5]
    6. Sleivenamon (Sliabh Na Nban) [4]
    7. A Decent Cup Of Tea [1]
    8. Siney Crotty's/Winnie Hayes's Jig
    9. Grace
    10. Dixie [2]
    11. The Parting Glass/Eddie Duffy's [6]
    12. Many Young Men Of Twenty
    13. Give Me Your Hand
    14. Hop/Jean Michele's Reels
    15. Dance And A Song And The Shamrock So Green [6]
    16. Celtic Symphony
    17. 8th Of January, The Battle Of New Orleans
  • Extra Tracks:
    1. Over Here, Over There [1]
    2. The Mountains of Pomeroy (Poem) [1]
    3. The Mountains of Pomeroy (Song) [1]
    4. Come Out Ye Black 'N' Tans [1] [2]
    5. On the One Road [1]

  • The Young Wolfe Tones
    • Derek Warfield: Lead Vocals & Mandolin
    • Damaris Woods: Banjo, Accordion, Mandolin & Piano
    • Padraig Allen: Bass, Guitar & Vocals
    • Jimmy Woods: Bodhrán, Button Accordion & Backing Vocals
  • Musicians
    • Luke Ward: Bass, Bouzouki, Guitar & Backing Vocals
    • Martin Cooney: 5-String Banjo
    • Seamus Shannon: Accordion
    • Des Sheerin: Bass
    • Joe Finn: Uillean Pipes & Tin Whistle
    • Chris Kavanagh: Vocals & Backing Vocals
    • Eamonn MacDonncha: Vocals
    • Peter Wrafter: Backing Vocals
    • Tony Allen: Backing Vocals
    • Padraig McGovern: Low Whistle, Tin Whistle & Uillean Pipes
    • Sean Dolan: Drums
    • Ciaran Tackney: Bass, Keyboards & Piano
    • Children's Chorus: Cathal Bogue, Cavan Youth Choir, Cian Hume, Ciarán Brady, Cillian O'Connor, Darryl Dolan, Declan King, Declan McGoldrick, Donal McGoldrick, Gary Farrelly, Glenn Farrelly, Jason Smith, Joe Kenny, John Fortune, John McCabe, Kavan Donohoe, Ken Ryan, Kevin Donohoe, Malachy McKeever, Martin Cruz Smith, Oisin McDonnell, Padraic Corley, Patrick O'Keefe, Pauric Donnelly, Robert Maloney Derham, Sean Finan, Sean VanHaaster
  • Credits
    • Producer : Derek Warfield, Damaris Woods & Tom McGrath
    • Engineer: Seamus Cullinane & Ciaran Tackney
    • String Transcription: Eileen Tackney & Ciaran Tackney
    • Sleeve Notes : Derek Warfield, Damaris Woods & Bronagh Mckenna
    • Artwork, Design: Marc Soal
    • Cover Photo: Matt Nolan
    • Publicity: Martin McGinley


These young musicians that comprise The Young Wolfe Tones are talented musicians and singers who love performing their craft and are passionate about their music. What Ireland's young performers achieve today is a reflection on past generations dedication to our tradition. It is my hope that I have inspired many younger than I to consider a life in dedication to art and music and brought the opportunity to many more just to enjoy the ballads that are so a part of our heritage. These three young performers are in my judgment the cream of a new generation and ably suited to help carry on Ireland's musical legacy. I have spent my life traveling, performing, learning, teaching and meeting the Irish Diaspora the world over. It is to The Young Wolfe Tones that I, a Wolfe Tone of four decades, say that where ever it is you go, as long as there is a song in your heart and hearty Irish souls in your midst, The Night Is…Young

Derek Warfield
19 February 2008

image  image  image  image  image  image  image 

  • Alternate release