Gordeanna McCulloch

Gordeanna McCulloch: Discography

Sheath and Knife
image image
  • Sheath and Knife
    • 1978 - Topic 12TS370 LP
    • 1997 - Fellside FECD117 CD — Remastered – w/additional tracks
      • Gordeanna McCulloch with The Clutha

image  Show Details

image  Hide Details

  • Side One
    1. The Yowie wi the Crookit Horn
    2. There's a Herrin in the Pan
    3. Sheath and Knife
    4. Jock Since Ever I Saw Yer Face
    5. Chevy Chase
    6. Captain Wedderburn
  • Side Two
    1. The Gallant Weaver
    2. Eence Upon a Time
    3. Caw the Yowes
    4. Bawbie Allan
    5. The Hielan Laddie
    6. Be Kind Tae Yer Nainsel
  • Extra Tracks on the CD reissue
    1. The Kirk O' Birnie Bouzle
    2. The Dowie Dens O' Yarrow
    3. The Lichtbob's Lassie
    4. Will Ye Gang Love
    5. The Bleacher Lassie O' Kelvinhaugh

  • Musicians
    • Accompanied by:
    • Gordeanna McCulloch: Vocals
    • Erlend Voy: Fiddle, Concertina
    • Calum Allan: Fiddle
    • Jimmy Anderson: Scottish Lowland Pipes
    • Ronnie Alexander: Guitar
  • Credits
    • First published by Topic 1978
    • Production and song texts by Peter Shepheard
    • Recording engineer: Colin Nicholson at Pan-Audio Studios, Edinburgh
    • Front sleeve design by Eddie Robertson
    • Back sleeve photograph by Alex Robertson
  • Credits — CD reissue
    • Remastered & Compiled byPaul Adams
    • Sleeve: Bryan Ledgard
    • Layout:Mary Blood
    • Tracks 13-16 from New Voices From Scotland: 1965 - Topic 12T133 LP
      • Recorded by Bill Leader
    • Track 17 from Streets of Glasgow: 1973 - Topic 12TS226 LP
      • Produced by Geordie McIntyre
      • Recorded by Dick Swettenham

Sleeve Notes

Gordeanna McCulloch has, in recent years, become recognised as one of Scotland's finest exponents of traditional folk song. She has been a member of The Clutha folk group for over ten years and on this, her first solo album, she is accompanied by members of the group — Erlend Voy on fiddle and concertina, Calum Allan on fiddle, Jimmy Anderson on Scottish lowland pipes and Ronnie Alexander on guitar.

The Yowie wi the Crookit Horn
Fiddles — Calum and Erlend
Guitar and Chorus — Ronnie
Written by Rev. John Skinner of Longmay, Aberdeenshire and published in Robert Chambers's Songs of Scotland prior to Burns (Edinburgh 1862).

There's a Herrin in the Pan
Collected recently by Jim Mahon from'his grandmother in Glasgow.

Sheath and Knife
Fiddles — Calum and Erlend
The words of this version are more or less as collected by William Motherwell in Ayrshire in 1825 (Child number 16). Robert Burns noted the tune during the 1790s.

Jock Since Ever I Saw Yer Face
Learned by Gordeanna from her mother.

Chevy Chase
Lowland Pipes — Jimmy
This shortened form of the ancient ballad (Child number 162) is set here to a traditional variant of the tune preserved for several hundred years in the repertoire of Northumbrian pipers, History is vague as to the actual battle described in the ballad, but The Complaynt of Scotland published circa 1550 mentions the song as being sung by shepherds.

Captain Wedderbum
Concertina — Erlend
Fiddle — Calum
Guitar — Ronnie
Collected in Aberdeenshire early this century by Gavin Greig, and published in Greig and Keith's Last Leaves of Traditional Ballads and Ballad Airs (Aberdeen 1925) (Child, number 46).

The Gallant Weaver
Fiddles — Calum and Erlend
Guitar — Ronnie
Contributed by Burns to James Johnson's Scots Musical Museum (Edinburgh, 1787-1803).

Hence Upon a Time
Concertina — Erlend
Chorus — Ronnie
From the singing of Jeannie Robertson of Aberdeen with additional verses (2, 3, 4 and 6) by Ray Fisher. Published in Norman Buchan and Peter Hall's The Scottish Folksinger (London & Glasgow, 1973).

Caw the Yowes
Fiddles — Calum and Erlend
This version is based on the traditional song as known to Burns. Verses 1,2 and 3 were added by him before he contributed the song to Johnson's Scots Musical Museum.

Bawbie Allan
Concertina — Erlend
From North-East tradition. In Gavin Greig's Last Leaves (Child number 84)

The Hielan Laddie
Fiddles — Calum and Erlend
Guitar and Chorus — Ronnie
One of the many bawdy folksongs collected by Burns and illicitly published shortly after his death in Merry Muses of Caledonia.

Be Kind Tae Yer Nainsel
Collected from popular tradition in Aberdeenshire by Rev. James Duncan early this century. A version much like this presumably inspired Lady Nairn's song of the same title written in 1798. The 'land o the teal' means the land of the loyal or faithful (heaven). The song appears in Folk Music Journal 1966 (London, EFDSS).

image  Hide Details

top index

In Freenship's Name
  • In Freenship's Name
    • 1997 - Greentrax CDTRAX 123 CD

image  Show Details

image  Hide Details

  • Track List:
    1. The Shuttle Rins
    2. The Bawbee Birlin' (Lyrics – Michael Marra & Rod Paterson/Music – Neil Gow)
    3. Johnny My Lad
    4. The Laird O' The Dainty Dounby
    5. My Bonnie Laddie's Lang A'Growin
    6. The Shepherd's Wife
    7. Skippin' Barfit Thro' The Heather
    8. Tam Bowie
    9. The Laird O' Warriston
    10. Tail Toddle
    11. The Plooman Laddies
    12. Willie's Droon'd In Yarrow
    13. The Laird O' Drum
    14. In Freenship's Name

  • Musicians
    • Gordeanna McCulloch: Vocals
    • Charlie Soane: Fiddle
    • Stuart Morison: Fiddle
    • Dougie Pincock: Harmony Vocals, Bodhrán, Flute, Whistle
    • William Jackson: Clarsach, Whistle
    • Brian Miller: Harmony & Spoken Vocals, Guitar

top index

Old Songs & Bothy Ballads 4: Nick-knack on the Waa
  • Old Songs & Bothy Ballads 4: Nick-knack on the Waa
    • 2008 - Autumn Harvest AH 006 CD

image  Show Details

image  Hide Details

  • Track List:
    1. The Wee Toun Clerk — Gordeanna McCulloch
    2. Beside Her Faither's Cottage — Alex Clarke
    3. Fee'd Tae The Drum — Gordon Easton
    4. The Gallant Forty Twa — Elizabeth Stewart
    5. I Must Away — Duncan Williamson
    6. The Moss o Burreldale — Hector Riddell
    7. I'm a Peer Rovin Lassie — Gordeanna McCulloch
    8. The Bureau — Alex Clarke
    9. The Muckin o Geordie's Byre — Gordon Easton
    10. The Twa Brothers — Elizabeth Stewart
    11. Bogie's Bonnie Belle — Hector Riddell
    12. The Farmyard Gate — Jock Duncan
    13. The Winter It Is Past — Vic Gammon
    14. It's Aa Yin Tae Me — Ron Bissett
    15. Parting Song — Chris, Aileen & Gordeanna
    16. Robin Hood and the Pedlar — Peter Shepheard
    17. Nancy's Whisky — Steve Black
    18. Catch Me If You Can — Pete Coe


Many of the finest traditional singers in the country gather in May each year for the Fife Traditional Singing Festival — a weekend of concerts and workshops held near Collessie in the rural heart the ancient kingdom of Fife.

Singers on this CD recorded in May 2007 are Gordeanna McCulloch from Glasgow who was first inspired to sing the ballads after hearing Jeannie Robertson in the 1960s; Gordon Easton, singer, fiddle player and raconteur from Tyrie in Aberdeenshire; Elizabeth Stewart from Mintlaw, many of whose songs came to her from her family the Fetterangus Stewarts; the world renowned singer and storyteller Duncan Williamson of Ladybank (who sadly passed away in November 2007) and Ron Bissett of Falkland, well-known in Fife for his repertoire of bothy ballads.

Many other singers took part in the weekend events and the CD captures some of these performances: retired farmer Hector Riddell from Banchory, butcher Alex Clarke from Dundee, Jock Duncan the great ballad singer from Pitlochry, Vic Gammon, folklorist, singer and Senior Lecturer in Folk and Traditional Music at the University of Newcastle, Chris Miles and Aileen Carr both members of Palaver, the Fife based song group, Peter Shepheard singer, folk song collector and an organiser of the weekend, Steve Black a doctor from Arnforth in Lancashire and Pete Coe folk singer and folk song enthusiast from Ripponden in Yorkshire.

top index