Alex Campbell

Alex Campbell: Alex Campbell at the Tivoli Gardens

  • Alex Campbell at the Tivoli Gardens
    • 1967 - Storyville 671 207 LP
    • 2003 - Storyville 5706 CD
  • Side One
    1. Cindy's Cryin' (Tom Paxton)
    2. Candy Man (Rev. Gary Davis)
    3. Needle Of Death (Bert Jansch)
    4. Tom Thumb's Blues (Bob Dylan)
    5. First Time Ever (Ewan MacColl)
    6. The Time Has Come (Anne Briggs
  • Side Two
    1. Where I'm Bound (Tom Paxton)
    2. Champion At Keeping Them Rolling (Ewan MacColl)
    3. Long Gone From Home (Alex Campbell)
    4. Strolling Down The Highway (Bert Jansch)
    5. He Was A Most Peculiar Man (Paul Simon)
    6. Sally Free And Easy (Cyril Tawney

  • Musicians
    • Alex Campbell: vocals, guitar and harmonica
    • Cy Nicklin: guitar
    • Robert Lelievre: guitar
    • Leif Sjberg: bass
  • Credits
    • Recorded in Copenhagen, Denmark in 1967.

Notes — from the CD reissue

This is the CD release of Alex Campbell's second LP for Storyville Records, twelve tunes recorded live in Tivoli Gardens, Copenhagen, in 1967. The Scottish folk guitarist and singer was the first to actually earn a living playing folk music, and was one of the first to leave Britain for the Continent, eventually settling in Denmark. The genre is contemporary — rather than traditional — folk music, with tunes by Paul Simon, Tom Paxton, Bob Dylan and Bert Jansch, among others, and only one Alex Campbell original. Alex Campbell is a modern European folk legend who helped shape the British and European modern folk scenes in the sixties. The music has an edge; Campbell sings songs from real life: about drugs and rambling, loneliness and love.