North America

Stan Rogers

Stan Rogers: Turnaround

image  image 
  • Turnaround
    • 1978 – Fogarty's Cove FCM-001 LP
    • 1990 – Fogarty's Cove FCM 001D CD
    • 2012 – Borealis BCD215 CD
  • Side One
    1. Dark Eyed Molly (Archie Fisher)
    2. Oh No, Not I (Trad. Arr. Stand Rogers)
    3. Second Effort
    4. Bluenose
    5. The Jeannie C.
  • Side Two
    1. So Blue
    2. Front Runner
    3. Song Of The Candle
    4. Try Like The Devil
    5. Turnaround

  • Musicians
    • Stan Rogers: Acoustic Guitar, Vocals
    • Garnet Rogers: Violin, Flute, Vocals
    • David Woodhead: Electric Bass, Piano
    • Curly Boy Stubbs: Acoustic Guitar, High String Guitar, Shaker
    • Ken Bloom: Northumbrian Smallpipes, Bandura, Zither, Recorder, Soprano Saxophone
    • Barry Keane: Drums
    • Bob Cohen: Electric Guitar
    • Kim Deschamps: Dobro
    • Jude Johnson: Vocals
    • Dave Mcmanus: Fretless Electric Bass
    • Ken Whitely: Piano, Organ
  • Credits
    • Produced for Fogarty's Cove Music by Paul Mills
    • All songs, unless otherwise indicated, were written by Stan Rogers
    • All songs arranged by Stan Rogers, with assistance from Garnet Rogers and David Woodhead
    • Horn arrangements by Ken Bloom and Garnet Rogers
    • Executive Producer: Valerie Rogers
    • Spiritual Advisor: Mike Curry
    • Hospitality: Bev Leth and Suzie Ferriman
    • Chief Engineer: Robert Leth
    • Recordist: Roy "Rocky Recordo" Farr
    • Mixdown Recordist: Garnet Rogers
    • Recorded at Springfield Sound, RRW1 Springfield, Ontario, Canada, from Sept. 23 to Sept. 28, 1977
    • Additional recording at Springfield Sound April 15 - 16, 1978
    • Mixed at Springfield Sound April 16 - 17, 1978, by Paul Mills and Robert Leth
    • Mastering at A&M, Hollywood, California, May 12, 1978
    • Engineers: Frank DeLuna and Robert Leth
    • Cover Photograph: Kenneth Ashcroft, A.R.P.S
    • Cover Design: Stan Rogers

Special Thanks to: The Friends of Fiddler's Green and Fiddler's Green Folk Club for rehearsal facilities; "Chopper" McKinnon and the folks at the Toronto Folklore Centre; the Band Instrument Department at Long & McQuade's, Toronto; Brian Ferriman and the staff at Springfield Sound for unheard-of kindness, cooperation, and assistance; Mitch Podolak and Barn Swallow Records who paved the way to this record's birth; and Grit Laskin, Luthier, who built one magnificent guitar.