The Fureys and Davey Arthur

The Fureys and Davey Arthur: 30 Years On


  • 30 Years On
    • 2008 - Global GBCD001 CD
  • Disc One
    1. Intro
    2. Clare To Here
    3. Reels: Sally Gardens, The Old Blackthorn, The Highlanders
    4. The Old Man
    5. Her Father Didn't Like Me Anyway
    6. Rattle For The Gypsy/Within A Mile Of Dublin
    7. Steal Away
    8. Mad Lady And Me
    9. The Grande Affair
    10. Reels: Tar Bolton, The Boys Of Malin, The Humours Of Tulla
    11. Leaving Nancy
    12. Leezie Lindsay
    13. This One's For You
    14. Waltz Of The Years
    15. I'll Be There
  • Disc Two
    1. First Leaves Of Autumn
    2. More Than I Can Say
    3. Jig Of Slurs
    4. Absent Friends
    5. Lonesome Boatman
    6. My Father's House
    7. Gallipoli
    8. Tennessee Waltz
    9. I Will Love You
    10. Geraldine's Thinking Of Galway
    11. Reels: Father Kellys, The Clumsy Lover
    12. Will You Dance With Me
    13. Mason's Apron
    14. When You Were Sweet Sixteen
    15. Red Rose Café
    16. The Green Fields Of France
    17. Goodnight Irene

  • Musicians
    • George Furey: Lead Vocals, Guitar, Mandolin, Whistle, Button Accordion
    • Eddie Furey: Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Mandolin
    • Davey Arthur: Guitar, Mando Cello, Tenor Banjo, Vocals
    • Luke Crowley: Bass Guitar, Whistle, Keyboards, Vocals
    • Domonic Leech: Accordion, Vocals

Sleeve Notes

The band were formed in 1978 [1] literally by accident George, Paul and Davey were playing in Denmark with their own band called the Buskers and Eddie and Finbar, while touring in Germany were involved in a road accident When George, Paul and Davey got news of the accident they immediately travelled to Germany to be with their brothers They then decided that they should all be playing together and this was the start of the Fureys and Davey Arthur.

After some early line-up changes, the band very quickly became a success and had a string of hits including When you were Sweet Sixteen, The Green Fields of France, Red Rose Café, The Old Man, Steal Away, Her Father didn't like me anyway, Clare to Here and Leaving Nancy.

The Fureys & Davey Arthur are responsible for some of the most stirring music ever to capture the public imagination Their folk based music has received standing ovations in some of the biggest concert halls of the world and they credit their musical ability to their parents, Ted and Nora, who were well known musicians themselves They encouraged their sons to play music from a very early age and there was live traditional music in their house almost nightly Their fans range from former neighbours to famous sports personalities & politicians Tony Blair has publicly stated that his favourite peace song of all time is the Fureys' "Green Fields of France".

  • DVD release image
    • 30 Years On: 2008 - Global GBDVD001 DVD
      • Released to celebrate the Fureys' 30th anniversary, this full-length concert DVD - running just over two hours - was recorded with Davey Arthur live in Vicar Street, Dublin.
  • Notes:
    1. Doing the math, The Fureys celebrate all their anniversaries basing the group's beginning in 1978.
      • Yet their first 2-albums were released in 1977.
      • Either the albums are mis-dated, or perhaps the group didn't start performing until 1978 …