Eric Bogle with John Munro: Voices  •  Discography


  • Voices
    • 2016 - Greentrax CDTRAX391 CD
  • Track List
    1. A Fork In The Road (Bogle)
    2. Once Upon A Time (Bogle)
    3. The Best Of Times (John Munro)
    4. When I'm Dead (Bogle)
    5. First The Children (Bogle)
    6. Heartland (Bogle)
    7. The List (Bogle)
    8. Farewell Fitness (Pete Titchener)
    9. Ballad For Billy (Simon Wilkins)
    10. Freedom Lost (Bogle)
    11. Breakup (Bogle)
    12. Voices (John Munro)

  • Musicians
    • Eric Bogle: Vocals, Guitar
    • John Munro: Mandolin, Backing Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Lead Vocals (Tracks: 3 & 12)
    • Pete Titchener: Acoustic Guitar, Lead Vocals (Track: 8)
    • Peter Franche: Accordion
    • Damien Steele-Scott: Bass
    • Emma Woolcock: Fiddle, Cello
    • Jon Jones: Percussion
    • Kathie Renner: Piano
    • Leonard Cohen: Slide Guitar
  • Credits
    • Producer: Peter Titchener
    • Recorded by Peter Titchener

Greentrax Recordings is proud to have been associated with Eric Bogle since 1989. In those 27 years Greentrax has released all of Eric's live and studio albums, including his collaborations with long-time buddy and touring partner John Munro, plus various compilations and the 5CD box set Singing The Spirit Home.

Voices is another amazing collection of songs — eight from Eric himself, probably one of the greatest songwriters of the past several decades. There are two songs from John Munro, one from Peter Titchener and a song sent to Eric by Simon Wilkins. The album is eagerly awaited from Greentrax by the legions of Bogle fans in the UK, Europe and beyond, and will not disappoint.

  • The songs include:
    • 'A Fork In The Road' — a tribute by Eric to his "partner in crime", as he describes John Munro.
    • 'Once Upon A Time' — keeps us guessing, but Eric says " … no fairy story but no guarantee of a happy ending either".
    • 'When I'm Dead' — which he hopes "will not be before 2045!".
    • 'First The Children' — a subject which Eric has visited before and expects to do again.
    • 'Heartland' — described as "being out there or maybe inside us".
    • 'The List' — in which he looks at the things he "still misses about Scotland".
    • 'Freedom Lost' — the persecution of various sections of the population in Nazi Germany in the 1930s.
    • 'Breakup' — "some relationship breakups are civilised — others, however … ".

To sum up, this Eric's usual varied interpretation of life and the world about us.

John Munro contributes 'The Best Of Times', from his life in Glasgow which includes a harmony with his late Dad, plus 'Voices', dedicated by John to "the voices of singers, poets and artists who have inspired, informed and changed us through the centuries".

Pete Titchener, who also produced the album, has one contribution: Farewell Fitness, a request by Eric to Peter to write a song that "sums up his life's philosophy, something that would give those who hear it an emotional and spiritual lift … this his contribution".

And the song Ian Green of Greentrax has kept to last is 'Ballad For Billy', written by Simon Wilkins for his late nephew Billy Spencer. "Billy was 26 years old when he lost his life in a tragic accident. His parents donated his organs to help others, his heart went to a young father of three beautiful daughters. Later Bill's Mum and Dad listened to their son's heart beating in that young father's body — imagine that if you can. And a further four more lives were saved by other organs Bill provided. The song was written by Simon the night after Bill died". Eric really liked the song and recorded it, as he has done with other similar submissions.